Offering Our Best To God

Posted: January 13, 2009 in Christianity
Tags: , ,

I am back after taking some time off for the holidays. I have used the time off to read, study and refresh my batteries. I just recently read the book Simple Church by Thom Rainer & Eric Geiger ( Thanks to pastors Jason & Jake for the recommendation ). The book is an excellent resource for implementing a process of intentional discipleship. It keeps focus on the ministries and programs that contribute to that process. One of the things that stuck with me was at the end of the book. At the beginning of the book of Malachi it talks about the disobedience of the priests. They were offering defiled animals for sacrifice. Instead of offering the best animals, they were offering animals that were blind, sick and lame. The book compares that to the programs we offer as a church. Instead of offering a multitude of programs that are mediocre, offer fewer programs that are excellent. That really made me think. Most churches I have been to are always looking to add new relevant programs. But are we offering our best to God? God has always cared more about quality than quantity. Our programs need to serve a purpose within the church. If we have a program because it draws many people, but those people never advance in the discipleship process. Then that program is useless. Popularity and attendance is not the benchmark of a good program. We are only offering the best to God if the program is changing lives or is making us better disciples. Let’s stop offering programs that are mediocre and useless. Here is what the Lord of Hosts told the priests who were offering less than the best to God.

Malachi 1:10 – “I wish one of you would shut the [temple] doors, so you would no longer kindle a useless [fire on] My altar! I am not pleased with you,” says the LORD of Hosts, “and I will accept no offering from your hands.

We would be better off to shut the church doors, than to offer programs that do not edify the body. Are you offering your best to the program or ministry in which you serve? Don’t serve just to punch your spiritual time card. Serve where you are willing to be committed to give your best. I will leave you with God’s warning to the priests about what would happen if they didn’t listen to what He said in Malachi 1.  Make sure to enjoy the imagery of these verses.

Malachi 2:1-3 – 1 “Therefore, this decree is for you priests: 2 If you don’t listen, and if you don’t take it to heart to honor My name,” says the LORD of Hosts, “I will send a curse among you, and I will curse your blessings. In fact, I have already begun to curse them because you are not taking it to heart.    3 “Look, I am going to rebuke your descendants, and I will spread animal waste over your faces, the waste from your festival sacrifices, and you will be taken away with it.

Leave a Reply

