“Let my heart be broken with the things that break the heart of God.”

Posted: August 10, 2010 in Christianity
Tags: , ,
Locator map of North Korea.

Image via Wikipedia

The above quote is from Robert Pierce the founder of World Vision and Samaritan’s Purse. This prayer was found written in his Bible after one of his missionary trips. This quote has stuck with me since I read it several weeks ago. Is this the attitude of the church in America? I wish it was, but I fear we have forgotten those far away. Out of sight, out of  mind is more the attitude we see. In fairness, it is easy to forget the suffering and lostness happening in other places because we have been blinded by busyness. We have become so self-centered and self-focused that we  have blinders on when it comes to other nations. As I have been praying for which region of the World God would send our church to, some things have really stood out. The vast amount of lostness in India is mind-boggling. The great multitude of people in this country guarantees that you can turn in any direction and encounter millions of people who have never heard of Jesus. North Korea is the country ranked number 1 in persecution of Christians. North Korean Christians face persecution on a daily basis. Yet in the face of that persecution they remain faithful. Does your heart break for the lost in India and the persecuted in North Korea?  If not, why not? Jesus died for the lost and persecuted because he so loved the world. Should we as Christians not love and sacrifice for them in the same way as Jesus?  Lord, let our hearts be broken by the things that break your heart.

Comments
  1. I love this…I have often wondered why more and more things seem to break my heart as my walk deepens…now I know..It is because I am receiving the heart of Christ…wow! Stumbling across this today is a God thing..Thank you

Leave a Reply

