As I decided to read Desiring God Revised Edition by John Piper, I was not sure what to expect. This is considered by many a must read book of the modern era. I was greatly blessed by what I read. This book discusses how we are to be as happy as we possibly can in God. It goes into great detail to explain what exactly is what Piper terms a Christian hedonist. Piper then looks at how this applies to many different areas of our lives including worship, marriage, money, missions and many others.

Reading this book was monumental for someone as myself who has struggled to find joy in God at times. The phrase ‘that God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him’ really struck home with me. The chapter on suffering was very encouraging and informative. As someone who always put sacrifice and suffering on the opposite end of the spectrum as joy, this chapter completely changed my heart and mind on this topic.  This chapter showed me how sacrifice is not the removing of joy from my life to please God, but how suffering and joy go hand in hand. For anyone who believes like I did that seeking joy was somehow worldly or wrong, every chapter in this book will challenge that view in one way or another. I am grateful that God placed this book in my hands at the perfect time in my life. I would recommend this book to all.

 

This book was provided free for review from Multnomah Books.

Comments
  1. I to love that book. It has such inspiration and truth to it!!! Feel free to stop by or subscribe to my blog. It is so awesome how God places people, books, quotes, or any other means in our lives to draw us closer to him.

  2. […] Desiring God by John Piper (fbjasper.wordpress.com) Advertisement LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "dddddd"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "333333"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "990000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "990000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "religion"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "non-fiction-2"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "spiritual-growth"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "bible"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "christian"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "desiring-god-meditations-of-a-christian-hedonist"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "dvd"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "god"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "john-piper"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "religion-spirituality"); LD_AddSlot("LD_ROS_300-WEB"); LD_GetBids(); Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

