Getting Back Up When Life Knocks You Down by Jeremy Kingsley

Posted: September 1, 2011 in Christianity, Reviews
Tags: , ,

When I received this book from Bethany House to review, I was interested to see what it contained. Not being the type of book that I would normally read, I thought I would give it a try. I was very disappointed by what I found in the book. While mentioning God many times, the book was very man-centered. God seemed to been thrown in as an afterthought after all the practical advice had been given out. God is usually mentioned in vague generalities, with the name of Jesus hardly even being mentioned at all. This book seemed to be a Christianized version of Dr. Phil or Oprah. Basically, I found it to be a self help book with a Christian label thrown on it. No problem is as easy as following 6 simple steps. And any solution that lacks a Gospel centrality will be found lacking. The reality of life, death and resurrection of Jesus and how it pertains to our lives today must be central to any solution. If not we are simply treating the symptoms and not the problem. I hate to give bad reviews to books that mean well.  However, I found this book to be nothing more that current day evangelical, purpose driven, therapeutic moralism. And for that reason, I can’t recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

