Our Last Great Hope by Ronnie Floyd

Posted: November 18, 2011 in Christianity, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Our Last Great Hope is a good book on the Great Commission. Ronnie Floyd’s heart for this topic comes through in this book. In this book, you will see areas in your life where an urgency for the Great Commission should make a difference. Everything from our churches, to our families, to our desires, to our finances should look different if we embrace the task of the Great Commission.  As I read this book driven by an author motivated by this task, it made me examine how at truly felt about the call for Christians to reach the nations with the message of Christ.

While much of the book is not new material for someone with a passion for missions, it was a good reminder of many things we sometimes forget. However, there was one section in particular that made me think about things I had never really considered much. This would be the chapter about transforming our families. I was confronted with the fact, that in my home and in our churches, we are not doing a good job of training our children for the Great Commission. We are far too guilty of training them at being successful in chasing the American Dream. What if were more actively training our children to be future pastors and missionaries?  I came away from this book feeling encouraged, yet challenged. There is much work to be done, and my prayer is that this book will inspire people to the call placed before us. This is definitely a book that I would recommend.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

