Torn by Jud Wilhite

Posted: December 23, 2011 in Christianity, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Torn is a book that talks about trusting God when life is hard. The book is split into two sections – trusting in God when torn & how to put the pieces back together. If we are honest, it is many times hard to trust in God when it feels as if He is not with us. The book reminds us that God is with us even in those times when it seems as if everything is falling apart. While our circumstances change, God’s character doesn’t. We can take comfort in being able to come to a God who is always there and never changing. When trying to put the pieces back together, Wilhite reminds of the importance of sharing our struggles with others.

For me most of the book was a helpful reminder of things I know, but seem to forget. However, the last chapter on learning to forgive was very helpful to me. It was one of those moments where God really used this chapter to show me an area that I needed to work on. I had just read in Matthew where it talks of leaving your sacrifice at the alter and leaving  to make amends with someone who has something against you. I picked up this book and the very next words were on what I had just read in Scripture. God used this to make me realize that I needed to forgive and not hold on to bitterness. I have had to left go of bitterness towards a biological father who left me behind and an ex-wife who I felt wronged me. I had held on to these things without ever realizing it. This chapter was a great help and guide for me. I would recommend this book.

I received this book free for review from Multnomah Books.

Comments
  1. Mike Leake says:

    Hey, can I borrow this so I make sure I don’t rip this dude off. LOL.

Leave a Reply

